To Market, or not to Market the Book

Marketing a book is a lot of work. I have discovered this firsthand, and I don’t like a lot of work. There is no quick fix to marketing a self-published book. The work must be done, and so the hours must be put in. But, is it all a waste of time? Is marketing your self-published book an exercise in futility? I ask myself this question a lot, because every hour I spend setting up my “author’s platform” is an hour I’m not writing. So, I took it to Google (my personal magic 8-ball) and typed in: “Is marketing my ebook a waste of time?” Google responded with this great Forbes article by Suw Charman-Anderson from back in 2012: Book Promotion For Self-Publishers: A Waste Of Time?

I liked what she had to say.

Tags: , , , ,

About Andrew Conlon

Fiction Writer. World Builder. Likes Books, Words, Ideas. Loves Family, Friends, Food.

6 responses to “To Market, or not to Market the Book”

  1. sjoycarlson says :

    I’m about to start seeking agents… This is a very interesting article. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

